Motor vehicle accidents are one of the most common causes of injuries and deaths in Nevada. According to data from the Nevada Department of Transportation, there were 284 fatalities related to car accidents in 2019. This was almost a 14-percent decrease from 329 deaths in 2018. Clark County had by far the highest number of fatal and nonfatal car accidents in 2019. Clark County alone recorded 185 traffic deaths in 2019. Thirty-three (33) of these victims were motorcyclists, 6 were bicyclists and 50 were pedestrians. To compare, the county with the second-highest death toll was Washoe County, with 35 deaths.
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada?
All motor vehicle operators must carry car insurance in the State of Nevada. Driving without insurance – or underinsured – can result in penalties such as fines, the suspension of the driver’s license and vehicle impoundment. The driver cannot reinstate his or her license until the driver is able to show proof of insurance. The minimum required amounts of car insurance in Nevada are currently:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per individual
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per car accident
- $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident
This insurance will pay for someone else’s injuries and property damage after a car accident that the policyholder causes in Nevada. If you wish to pay for your own losses, you will need additional coverage, such as collision or comprehensive insurance. As a driver, you must carry proof of insurance – either physically or electronically – on your person when driving your car. According to Las Vegas car accident lawyer William Brim, If you have insurance but cannot show proof during a traffic stop, you may have to pay a fine and appear in court to show evidence of insurance.
How Is Fault Determined in a Car Accident?
Fault for a motor vehicle accident is typically determined with an in-depth investigation of the crash. Investigators may revisit the scene of the crash to search for evidence of fault, such as vehicle debris or skid marks. Then, they may speak to eyewitnesses to collect statements about what happened. Other sources of evidence that can be used to piece together why a car accident occurred may include photographs, videos and the damage to either vehicle.
In most instances, fault for an automobile accident will go to the driver or party that violated a traffic law, such as a driver that ran a red light or was speeding. If there is proof that one of the drivers was breaking a law or otherwise behaving negligently behind the wheel in the moments leading up to the crash, this driver will most likely be found liable. Many car accident cases involve liability disputes and multiple at-fault parties, however, and may require further investigation by an insurance company.
What if the Other Driver Doesn’t Have Insurance?
In spite of it being against the law, many drivers who live in and are visiting Nevada drive without car insurance. This can make it more difficult to obtain fair financial compensation if you get into an accident. As soon as you find out that the other driver doesn’t have insurance, call the police, even for a minor accident. The driver will be fined and prevented from driving until he or she gets insurance.
To seek financial recovery for your medical bills and vehicle repairs after this type of crash, you will need to contact your own car insurance company. Unfortunately, if you only purchased the bare minimum car insurance in Nevada, you may not have the correct coverage for an uninsured or underinsured motorist accident. Ask your insurance company if you have the right type of coverage. If not, contact an attorney to find out if you can hold a third party responsible instead, such as the other driver’s employer or a vehicle manufacturer.